jack easonI must start this post by congratulating my good mate Jack Eason for his book The Seventh Age making it to Number One on the Amazon UK paid bestsellers under Science Fiction adventure. There is surely no one who deserves this success more than Jack.

However, as I looked at the book’s page on Amazon, and starting reading the reviews, I noticed something that is becoming more and more prevalent. The new nasty reviewer. These low life always hide behind anonymity to post their rubbish and vent their spleen, which I imagine is from some sick sense of envy, gaining notoriety, or simply childish attention seeking.

I checked the so called reviewer whose comment had irked me and was not surprised to find a long list of previous reviews that followed a similar theme. Trash bagging I would call it. There was a blog link on the reviewer’s page on Amazon, which I followed, but once again struck total anonymity.

Unfortunately there are more and more of these, for want of a better word, scumbags, who seem to have little else to fill their lives other than wading around Amazon looking for writers and books to bag. It’s one reason I avoid Amazon forums like the black plague.

So what can you do if you are unlucky enough to get one attacking your book? The best advice I’ve heard is to just ignore them. You can click the button saying that the review was not helpful, but commenting or attacking these idiots is just what they want, so don’t feed them.

In the case of Jack’s book as it is almost always, the cretin’s review sticks out like a sore thumb as being from and idiot and most readers are smart enough to figure this out for themselves and will ignore it.

We’ve all learned to live with spammers, so I’m sure we’ll learn to live with these new idiots too.

 

A Number One And A Nasty Reviewer
Tagged on:                                 

18 thoughts on “A Number One And A Nasty Reviewer

  • 26/04/2012 at 6:05 pm
    Permalink

    Makes you want to go read it just to see what it is all about.

    I would suspect it is a less successful author, or a wish I were one that is hiding someplace snipping at those who are making it in a very hard market.

    Of course it could also be one of the snobs from the big boys at the top paid to keep the rest under foot for quick squishing as they get close to encroaching on their lofty grounds.

    My opinion of course.

  • 26/04/2012 at 6:17 pm
    Permalink

    Like they say in Hindi,’Dogs will bark if you’re walking, Doesn’t mean that you stop walking!!’. Walk on I say!

    And Jack, congrats dude! :D

  • 26/04/2012 at 7:21 pm
    Permalink

    The Amazon Forums are full of these trolls who only get free or $.99 book. They fancy themselves as world class reviewers yet I doubt that half of them have finished high school. They delight in the power to hurt sales of writers with bad reviews and are particularly hostile to indy writers. They can discuss any book or recommend any book but should an author mention their book in any way they attack en masse. The Amazon forums do nothing for writers and I have repeatedly requested that Amazon take them down.

    • 26/04/2012 at 7:55 pm
      Permalink

      So, let me get this right Rick…you think anyone should be able to publish and be considered an author, but not everyone can submit a review and be a reviewer? I always thought KDP self publishers fancy themselves as authors in the same level as everyone else…so really you can’t have your cake and eat it too.

      • 26/04/2012 at 8:05 pm
        Permalink

        I have to butt in Anony. I think the point is about hiding behind anonymity.

        As and author, I’ll accept any review good or bad from any reader in any forum. And I receive my share of both. But I do get really peeved at those who are habitual in their negativity and hide themselves. Gutless little wonders in their own living room in my view.

      • 27/04/2012 at 9:13 am
        Permalink

        Anony, I feel that bottom-feeders who do not buy the books they give bad reviews for should even allowed to
        review unless they buy the books or hide their identity with some cutesy troll name. If they have such serious
        issues they cannot even reveal who they are, then clearly they are not qualified to judge the work of others.

        • 27/04/2012 at 9:16 am
          Permalink

          Sorry that should read shouldn’t instead of should, message box is running behind the adds on the right.

          • 27/04/2012 at 9:18 am
            Permalink

            Sorry about the problem Rick. Looks like a WordPress update has messed with my comment box!

  • 26/04/2012 at 7:44 pm
    Permalink

    I think this is a very unpleasant new phenomenon that I have read about a few times over the last few weeks.

  • 26/04/2012 at 9:15 pm
    Permalink

    It isn’t far from product reviews I see on Amazon as well. If you dig deep into the really negative ones where many are favorable you usually find a competitor at the heart, part of the modern age.

  • 27/04/2012 at 10:18 am
    Permalink

    Hi Derek, I checked out Jack’s book on Amazon UK and US and couldn’t find any offending or badly written review.

    Jack: Congratulations, mate. I will buy your book today, and you can expect an honest review from me.

    • 27/04/2012 at 11:22 am
      Permalink

      Just checked JJ and the offending review has been removed. Perhaps the troll got the hint!! lol

  • 27/04/2012 at 1:35 pm
    Permalink

    I am fairly new to Jack Eason. I am finding his 7th Age very readable. Thanks for letting ys all know what cretins are around on the Internet. I shall keep this in mind for the future. Evelyn

  • 27/04/2012 at 4:10 pm
    Permalink

    Good Morning everyone! :)

    First and foremost, CONGRATULATIONS Jack! I am going to purchase your book today as well. :)

    As the saying goes, “You can please some of the people some of the time, but you can’t please all of the people all of the time.” although Nasty is never necessary and anonymous is quite cowardly..
    I’m going through a similar situation as my stalker / hacker has many faces. I’m learning to ignore as well.
    But if it continues, heads and defaults will roll! Get a life!! LEAVE ME ALONE.
    Wishing you all a lovely weekend. :)

  • 28/04/2012 at 7:20 am
    Permalink

    Thanks for this helpful post. I have one book traditionally published and am currently working hard on the follow up, which I will indie publish. In some discussions with fellow authors, I have been encouraged to start making use of the Amazon forums and build a presence there. Given your post, I now think I will give that a miss and focus instead on my own personal posts and tweeting. So I’m grateful for the warning. Writers put their hearts into their books and they do not need dishonest reviews.

    I’m so new to all of this -I do not even own an ereader yet. But my birthday’s coming up and so I am anticipating that will change. When it does, I look forward to reading Jack’s new book!

Comments are closed.